Happy Birthday to me!

Ever since I was little I have been very specific about what I wanted, especially to eat.  My birthday is the ultimate of all days that I want to eat exactly what I’m craving.  I will admit that I tend to prefer my cooking over most others.  This meaning that giving over the control to my mother for cooking this ever important meal, has always been a bit of a struggle.  My mother is a wonderful cook, she is where I learned most of my tricks……yet this is still difficult to say the least.

Now my cake flavor on the other hand is never a deliberation.  We came to an agreement while I was home that this year for my birthday, she would bake my favorite cake and I would make the icing for it….

Mom’s Strawberry Coconut Cake

1 box yellow cake mix

1 cup oil

4 large eggs

1 cup coconut

1 package strawberry gelatin

1/2 cup of milk

1 cup mashed strawberries

Directions:

Preheat the oven at 350 degrees.  Mix the cake mix and gelatin together.  Add the eggs, oil, coconut and milk.  Drain the juice from your mashed strawberries (reserve juice), and stir the strawberries into the mix.  Divide the mixture into two greased cake pans and bake for roughly 35 minutes (until the cake bounces back after you touch the top)

 

After the cake cools you need to pour the reserved juice over the cake for a little added moisture.  I then trimmed the cake to get ready for my half of the recipe.

Ashley’s Fabulous Fluffy Cream Cheese Icing

1/2 cup of shortening (your birthday comes but once a year)

1 block of cream cheese

1 2 lb bag of powdered sugar

A few tablespoons of milk

Directions:

Whip together the shortening and cream cheese together, with the mixer on high.  Turn the mixer down to low and slowly add the powdered sugar.  The mixer with look something like play dough, it is then time to add milk one tablespoon at a time.  I will let you decide how much to add, it depends on how thick you want yours.  I add about four tablespoons but I like my icing thick and fluffy (for this recipe you can add a little strawberry juice instead).

You should put icing on the top of the bottom cake layer and then add the second layer stacked on top.  I then add what I call my crumb layer of icing all over the cake.  After the “crumb layer” put the cake in the refrigerator for at least thirty minutes, take out and add a second coat to cover the messy crumb coat.  This is the secret to not having crumbs in you final coat of icing.  I added half a cup of toasted sliced almonds to the top of my cake, but feel free to add whatever what nuts are you favorite.  It is a birthday cake after all so make it exactly what you want to have on your birthday.

Yum!  Don’t forget the candles!  I hope your enjoy my birthday cake as much as I do.  From my tiny apartment kitchen to yours, happy birthday to all!

Leave a Reply

