Cronuts At Home

We’ve all heard of the craze. We have seen the Instagram photos of the ridiculous lines outside of the NYC bakery. Everyone from two broke girls to the college prepster have been buzzing about the newest pastry craze…… Cronuts. In case you have been living under a rock, a Cronuts is a cross between a croissant and a donut.

Being that I am in Houston and not NYC I have been racking my brain on how to get my hands on this creation. After all for any girl raised in the south you are inadvertently taught the occasional fried food is a right. We were all also taught how to create these foods ourselves. I’m going back to my Arkansas roots for this one. Remembering Saturday mornings with my mom in the kitchen frying up canned biscuits with a hole cut in the middle. This was a rare treat that my siblings and myself grew to love.

Cronuts:
Makes about eight cronuts

1 can of seamless croissant dough
2 Tbsps apple cider
1 cup of powdered sugar
Cinnamon
Ginger spice
Cinnamon and Sugar grinder (optional)
Vegetable oil for frying

20131107-104834.jpg

Pour oil into a frying pan about an inch deep and warm it on medium low. While the oil heats roll out the croissant dough

20131107-104931.jpg

Now you can use a three inch donut cookie cutter or make due with what you have to cut these out. I used a pastry cutter and a cupcake filler kitchen toy (you use it to punch the center out of the cupcake before you fill the center).

20131107-105204.jpg

I was able to freehand three, 3 inch circles cut out of the croissant dough.

20131107-105409.jpg

Before you throw the dough in the fryer, sift the powdered sugar. Then pour the cider into the powdered sugar, add cinnamon and ginger to taste. This is your fabulous glaze! Use the scrapes from the dough to make two balls, smash them down, and cut holes out of both pieces. This should give you eight pieces to fry. Once the oil is ready (you can test it by throwing a bit of flour in the oil and seeing if it sizzles), put two or three pieces in. It’s important you work these in increments so they don’t stick together.

20131107-110158.jpg

When they start to puff up like the photo above its time to flip these. They don’t take long to cook roughly 20-30 seconds on each side. They should look like this when they’ve browned correctly.

20131107-110329.jpg

Have a paper towel lined plate to absorb some of the oil as you work these. Once their all cooked line them on a pan or cutting board.

20131107-110642.jpg

Add glaze on top of each one with a pastry brush, sprinkle bits of magic from the sugar grinder (or add toasted chopped nuts).

20131107-110839.jpg

Now taste what the craze is all about, while sitting in your pjs at home.

20131107-110951.jpg

From my kitchen to yours, enjoy!

One thought on “Cronuts At Home

  1. Thank you so much for liking my Blog today. Your Blog is awesome and my Mom can’t wait to try a Cronut! Being that I’m a pup, I can’t have that unless you sneak me a piece. Haha! I won’t bark if you won’t!
    Please follow me for more pup-ventures! Love and Licks Bella Blu

Leave a Reply

