Not your mother’s thanksgiving dinner

It’s that time of year…. The foodie holiday of all foodie holidays…. THANKSGIVING! Thanksgiving since I’ve gotten married has always been a brunch for two. Working in retail makes this holiday a nice meal before a long evening of working and making it almost impossible to get together with our out of state family.

For the first time since our move to Texas we have family coming in for the holidays!!!! The in-laws should be arriving sometime next Tuesday and we’re so excited! This will be my first year hosting Thanksgiving so a months planning is totally reasonable, right? I’ve tinkered and toyed with the menu…..
I have a plan….. now time to pull out the recipe cards…..

20131118-193549.jpg

Thankfully I come from a family of great cooks…. My mom’s mom being the greatest of all (although I hear her mother was pretty fabulous)

20131118-194056.jpg

Sweet Mawmaw makes a wonderful Chicken and Dressing recipe that everyone looks forward to around the holidays. I’m praying nobody strikes me down for this but for my dressing this Thanksgiving I’m updating the recipe…..

Not my Mawmaw’s Chicken and Dressing aka Bourbon and Bacon Dressing

Ingredients:
1 skillet of cornbread (I used the recipe of the back of Aunt Jemima’s Cornmeal)
4 Chicken Breast
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 yellow onion
1 stalk celery
1.5 tsps poultry seasoning
Handful of fresh Sage and Thyme
3 eggs
6 slices of bacon
2 Apples (I used honeycrisp)
1/3 cup of bourbon plus 2 Tbsps
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp sage

20131118-195928.jpg

I’m so excited to use the herbs from our garden

20131118-200057.jpg

20131118-200130.jpg

Now bake the cornbread, while it’s in the oven boils the chicken and fry up the bacon on medium heat until crisp. Preheat the oven to 375.

20131118-200334.jpg

Crumble the bread when cooled but still warm into a large mixing bowl. Shred two of the chicken breast reserving the broth from boiling them. I usually just use a couple forks to pull the chicken.

20131118-200549.jpg

Crumble the cooked bacon saving the grease in the pan. Chop your herbs, add them along with the bacon and chicken to the crumbled bread. Chop the celery, apples, and onion.

20131118-200925.jpg

Put the creels, apple, and onion into the bacon grease. Add 1/3 cup of chicken broth and 2 Tbsp of Bourbon to the pan. Simmer the pan until the veggies/fruit are tender.

20131118-201543.jpg

Once finished pour the veggies into the dry mix while reserving the juices.

20131118-201942.jpg

Now in a separate mixing bowl add top four cups of the broth (from boiling the chicken), 1/3 cup of bourbon, the juices from the pan and the eggs. Mix well. Pour the dry mix into a greased 9×17 baking pan. Then slowly pour the liquid over top until standing in spots (not totally covered).

This is the point when you can wrap the dressing and freeze it. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and then foil to freeze. The night before serving place the dish in the refrigerator to thraw, then pop it in the oven the next day.

Or bake immediately for about an hour, until the center is firm (nobody likes a dressing that’s wet)

I did freeze the majority of mine for next week but I baked a few mini tartlets to make sure it was as wonderful as I dreamed it up to be….. For all of my readers sake of course…..

It is awesome.

20131118-203205.jpg

20131118-203255.jpg

20131118-203338.jpg

20131118-203415.jpg

To all others hosting their first thanksgiving, I hope this recipe makes it a little less stressful….. And way more fabulous! Happy thanksgiving from our home to yours!

3 thoughts on “Not your mother’s thanksgiving dinner

  1. This look absolutely delicious! I love the spin you’ve put on it! Also, I’m so excited that you get to have family over this year! Hosting Thanksgiving is so much fun! I want to know what else you’re making! And I’m sure your table is going to look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

