Sweet memories and the easiest truffle you’ll ever make

All my memories are attached to food. Eating those foods can transport me right back to that moment. Although I have cooked and shared many a fabulous gourmet dish, there is always something about Oreos that I can’t get over. Yes I know it is processed sugar, shortening, and more processed sugar….. I believe the only people who can really say they don’t have a secret love for Oreos are those who have never had the some-what guilty pleasure of downing a package of them.

So I have many memories attached to these cookies, lunch in my elementary school cafeteria, coming home from college knowing mom would have them waiting, and late night trips to the store with the hubby to get our Oreo fix. I’ll never forget my first Oreo ball experience. The Christmas my husband and I were engaged, he made the drive from Alabama to Arkansas on the 27th of December. What to my surprise had his sweet sister and mama sent with him…… Oreo balls. I had never had such a thing, it was the most familiar flavor but it looked like a fancy truffle. My mom and I quickly devoured the majority before the rest of the family even knew they existed. When I wanted to make something wonderful for a Holiday gathering this year, needless to say I thought I’d try a hand at the dessert I remember so fondly.

To my pleasant surprise these were super easy and they tasted even better than I remembered.

Oreo Balls
This recipes makes about 32 truffles

Ingredients:

1 package softened 8 oz cream cheese
36 Oreos finely crushed (use the food processed if you can, so much quicker)
2 packages of Ghirardelli Whit melting chocolates

20140104-234359.jpg

Take your finely crushed Oreos…

20140104-234611.jpg

Reserve about a 1/4 cup of crumbs and set them aside, then fold the cream cheese into the main bowl of crumbs and roll into balls about an inch thick, place onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Then leave in the fridge for at least an hour, so they will hold their shape when their dipped in the chocolate.

20140104-235440.jpg

Melt the chocolate according to the package directions. Dip the balls and sprinkle reserved crumbs on top.

20140104-235531.jpg

It is that easy… Seriously, so for all of you snowed in this week you probably actually have the stuff for this treat at home now. You could even put these in pretty gift box and give the perfect homemade Valentine’s gift this year! From my home to yours, happy eats!

20140104-235733.jpg

Leave a Reply

